The Bittersweet Ambition of Years to Come

Post CXCV

Here’s the story of Orion girls, the future, and Mickey Mouse.

ARRRRGH! Where’s the Sun gone? It was like doomsday, I’d imagine. I’d completely forgot there was gonna be an eclipse. I’d forget my head if it wasn’t screwed on. My first eclipse. That I remember. And it was bloody cloudy. I’d like to see one in my lifetime, but that’s bordering on ambitious and I’m not ambitious in the slightest. I’d like one on my birthday, but the next nearest to my birthday is on July 22, 2038. And the only place to see it is on top of a very tall mountain in Australia. I mean, I’m out of breath walking down the stairs, so I doubt I could get up a mountain now and I’m 24. It’ll be a miracle if I make it to 38, to be honest…

I haven’t even mentioned the 26 hour airplane ride and everyone knows what I’m like with airplanes. I’ll be vomiting and crying pretty much all the way. Then there’s the jet lag. To get over jet lag you need a good couple of weeks. But I wouldn’t have a couple weeks. I’d have, maybe a day. Maybe two. And then you’re asking a man as fit and healthy as an overweight hippo to walk the distance of the London marathon every day for two weeks. With no oxygen! Not to mention the fact I get altitude sickness, something I discovered in Lanzarote whilst I was going up a mountain on a camel. To do that now would definitely kill me after about 100 feet. But at 38? Jesus, are you kidding?

Of course, I could get all fit and healthy, but 38-year-olds aren’t meant to be doing exercise. You do that when you’re young. Middle age is for splashing out on all those fancy gadgets you want. Old age is a time for relaxing. But you never know, medicine is getting better all the time. By 2038, I may be living in a world where I could live to 100…

Not that it’s particularly appealing. Global warming will hit its worst in that time and food and the like will start to run out. Fossil fuels will be gone by 2100. And many animals will be extinct by then. The Siberian Tiger, the Black Rhino and the Sumatran Orangutan, to name but a few. And as if all that aint bad enough, in 2023 the copyright on the earliest Mickey Mouse cartoons will expire. Think of all the cartoons you’ll be able to download without dear old Walt’s family getting even a jot! That’s outrageous.

By 2025, humans will have landed on Mars. Which is a good thing, right? We need to figure out how to survive on other worlds and the psychology of it all. Because in about a billion years, the Sun will blow up taking us all with it. And surely I won’t be alive then. Unless they put my head in a jar. I hope someone is working on that.

In 2029, ‘The Message from Earth’ will reach Gliese 581, one of the nearest worlds to ours that could be habitable. So much so that it could contain life. Hence why we sent a message. Of course, there is a chance we won’t be here by 2030 because ‘hello’ may be the alien’s word for something really bad. Thus causing the start of the Third World War in which you’ll all be screwed. Not me. I’ll gladly surrender. At least I’ll still be alive. Never know, they may need volunteers to breed alien-human hybrids. Which will be grand if they look like Orions. Not so good if they look like Klingons…

Scientists tell us we’re all gonna die in 2038. Which is a bit of a bummer unless they find a solution. All computer clocks on Earth are effectively gonna run out, a major problem for just about every machine on Earth. This happened in 2000 but scientists saved the day. And I’m sure they’ll do it again. But if they don’t, we’re all dead. Not to worry you.

Not much really happens after that for a… very long time. By 2100, the UK population will be over 75 million with the world’s population over 11 billion. All this is remarkable, isn’t it?

Of course, one scientist has said that humans can’t survive for more than 100 years from now. No, wait… now. Population explosion, dwindling resources, ‘unbridled consumption’ and global warming that will sink many countries in the next 100 years.

The oldest living human made it to 122. If I lived that long, I’d live until the year 2112. In that time, there’ll be 221 solar eclipses, including one, fittingly, four days after my birthday in 2112. I’m not saying I’m gonna live that long, I really won’t, but there’s still a lot of life left to live.

People say you’ve gotta live each day as if it’s your last, but that’s stupid. Because if you did, you’d spend the entire day crying. What you should do is live each day as if it’s the most important day of your life.

I sure hope I’ll see another eclipse. Don’t know where, don’t know when. But we’ll meet again, some sunny day. Which won’t be sunny for very long because that’s sorta the point of an eclipse…

American artist and studio potter, Beatrice Wood (1893-1998), who lived to 105, once said of her longevity, “I owe it all to chocolate and young men.”

Peace Out :|:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the title on the top of this post if you are on the archives page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

To Contrive & Jive
New Posts Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post

Hark Around the Words
New Posts Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post


Leave a Reply

